Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Please Need help With Recon Buying Decision

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2006, 12:28 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please Need help With Recon Buying Decision

Hello,

I am new to this and have not had a chance to ride one more than a short test ride in the dealers parking lot but I have a question... I am thinking about getting a Recon for slow speed creeping through a heavily forested area. Some rough slow roads, mountainous, but mostly brush and branch littered forest floor with undeveloped pine forest trail.

Is the Recon suited to this slow-speed low-gear stuff? Is the Recon's 1st gear low enough to just creep along tracter style if necessary with good manuverability, picking my way through it?

Or...Would I really miss not having the ultra-low first gear as on the Rancher?

Thanks for the help,
eyekazoo

Old 08-22-2006, 01:59 PM
Trailblazer

Funny, I was in the same position a few months ago. I wanted something I could crawl up and down hills and ride through the woods. I am 6'2" 185lbs. I was thinking I needed a 4wd Rancher. I was lucky because I was able to rent a 2004 Recon and ride the crap out of it before I made my decision. I was so impressed with the Recon, I bought, a 2006 with foot shift. Why? It had plenty of power and could do everything I tried to do with it. The only time I get stuck is when I try to back up a hill. The Recon is smaller than the Rancher. I'm sure you could feel that when you sat on both at the dealer. The Rancher felt too big, like I would be driving a Jeep though the woods. The Recon just felt better to me. I can squeeze through tight trails easily. It is very similar to the 250EX so you can whip it around cut loose when you want. It can do some serious wheelies, if you're into that. I have zero regrets buying my Recon. I really don't think you can go wrong with either Rancher or Recon, so pick the one you feel most comfortable with. Hope this helps!