Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

400ex too much for first quad?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2008, 12:03 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 400ex too much for first quad?

Hi. I am looking at getting into the world of quads and was wondering if a 400ex would be too much to handle for a first quad. Im about 220 lbs and think i could handle it no problem but dont want to eat a tree. I like speed but would a 300ex be a better choice. I may want to throw a chick on the back, would that be a problem cause they look like theres plenty of seat room but... and obviously i know to keep it to a dull roar with a passenger. I was thinking of a utiliy but there a little pricey and im a college student with a small budget. Any other recomendations for a quad. Thanks

Old 04-28-2008, 12:14 AM
Pro Rider

a 400ex wont be to much at all. to tell you the truth i they you will be bored of the power in a year or 2. but it is a good first quad because they hold there value very well.

Old 04-28-2008, 10:39 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Good choice! You aren't going to get in over your head on this machine, yet it has high enough performance that you aren't going to be bored either....

Old 04-28-2008, 01:47 PM
Trailblazer

The 400 EX is going to be just what you are looking for. It is geared much better for a passenger than the 450R is as well. You also don't have as many maintenance concerns with this bike, so you will not have to shell out cash as often to fix or do routine services like you would with the 450R. If I had some extra cash, I would pick one up myself just to joy ride with, in fact I've been looking in the area to find one at a decent price.

Old 04-28-2008, 02:40 PM
Trailblazer