Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Stripped Drain Plug Rancher TRX420 FE

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2008, 12:08 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stripped Drain Plug Rancher TRX420 FE

This is my 5th atv so I'm no beginner. I was performing my first oil change on my atv and this happened - I had just finished draining the oil out of the atv so I put the drain plug in to tighten to honda specs with my torque wrench and then it happened it turned and got loose. I double checked my wrench and it was set correctly. I have beat myself up about this already so go easy here, I don't know exactly what happened.

I took it to a local shop that I care nothing about but they were open on saturdays so I dropped it off. They felt like a heli-coil would do the trick. Got a call today saying it would not work. I would need a new case half. Part alone $500. I told them I would just come pick it up.

Any proven less expensive ways to fix my problem here? I did a search on this forum and found were one person that seemed to know what they were talking about stated the following:

If it's the engine oil drain you're talking about...normally they can be fixed with a heli-coil also, however the Rancher models are a different beast. The Rancher is a dry sump engine, with the oil tank being internal (unlike the 400EX and Rubicon which have external tanks). If you look at the engine oil drain threads on a Rancher, you'll see they have a rather wide slot cut in them. For this reason, a heli-coil (or any other thread repair I know of) will interfere with the exchange of oil inside the engine. According to Honda...you cannot heli-coil the engine drain on this model. Also, I know of one case where it was attempted and major engine damage resulted. For this reason, the only acceptable fix for a stripped engine oil drain on the Rancher series engine is case half replacement.

I need some help here, thanks in advance.

Old 09-24-2008, 12:24 PM
Red Rider