Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

1986TRX250R issues

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 11:22 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1986TRX250R issues

I need some help with my 86 trx250R. I am new to the world of race quads. I bought this thing used and I have just put a new topend in it. It was marked 66mm on the jug and the manufacturer said it looked like the first rebuild. Everything was installed correctly but I am fouling plugs and running rich. (too much fuel due to plug being black and wet). I have a keihin carb that says PJ but no "mm" indication. I checked the jets and the main is a 152 and the slow is a 48. FLoat level by way of measuring in the manual looks to be about right..just over 1/2". Running valvoline 2 cycle oil and supreme pump gas at 32/1 ratio. I have a FMF pipe and silencer. I have lots of black spray which indicates rich mix to me. THe engine bogs and spits and spudders until I'm wide open then it seems to line out but still isn't quite right. It just seems like I am getting way too much fuel. My airscrew is 1 7/8 turns out. My throttle adj **** is only about 1 turn out. I have noticed that these two ajustments don't do much of anything..especially the throttle ****. I have been throught the carb and all is clean and flowing freely. I turned my reeds over and they seat with no gap and look to have no signs of wear and tear. I have good spark as well. Please help me get this thing running right or stear me in the right direction. I'm about 3400 feet in elevation and running the BR8 plugs. Thanks Guys!

Old 09-13-2011, 02:36 PM
Pro Rider