Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

400ex for racing

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2013, 08:12 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 400ex for racing

im new to this i just needed some help figuring out mods for my 400ex. I have stage 2 cam, ported and polished, 426 big bore 11:1 compression piston. Its going to be for racing. i know i could get a 450 but id rather use my 400. What other mods could i do to get more power and speed. Also what exhaust is the best to run. Thanks for the help

Old 10-17-2013, 07:28 AM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by dragracer400
im new to this i just needed some help figuring out mods for my 400ex. I have stage 2 cam, ported and polished, 426 big bore 11:1 compression piston. Its going to be for racing. i know i could get a 450 but id rather use my 400. What other mods could i do to get more power and speed. Also what exhaust is the best to run. Thanks for the help
You can get more power many different ways, im currently building a 400ex with basically the same set up, 426, stage 2, port and polish, i have the fmf titanium 4 exhaust with fmf powerbomb headers and those work great Im also going to install the curtis sparks timing key Ignition Advance Key, Honda 1999- TRX400EX and that adds 2 hp

Your welcome, Karson

Old 10-17-2013, 01:36 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks i heard a lot about them pipes. What exactly does the timing key do?

Old 10-17-2013, 05:48 PM
Extreme Pro Rider

Timing keys are not for high compression motors.... It should say that on Sparks site.
If you want to add to the motor, let it breath. Uni filter, 450r carb, powerbomb header and any decent pipe that that will fit the header. BTW do you have HD head studs?