Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

400EX estetical mods

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2001, 08:36 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello people.

I just bought a new 2001 400EX last weekend, and I am really proud of it. I'm a new driver, not riding a lot, but I wanted a quad to bring some fun to my weekends. I'm not really interested in speed and/or performance. I like the stock quad the way it is (i know, my opinion will change soon!!). I wanted to put some extra money on it for estetical mods... Did sombody in the world even tought about making part that change the way the quad look like? Is there something that we can add to make it more attractive (visually)... and i'm not talking about stickers.

secondo.. where do you guys learn what mod do what, what is what, and what goes where? I mean, there is so much (speed and performance) mods out there.. how do you know wich one you need? is there a list of the most commonly used mods on 400EX and there utility?

Thank you.

Old 04-10-2001, 12:30 PM
Pro Rider

...so you want to learn as much as you can?... my only suggestion is- keep reading this forum. I've learned a crap-load of stuff off here- and ask questions. As for the first few hop-ups... go with a slip-on pipe and a K&N air filter... that right there changes your airflow and gives you more power.. Now that you have better air flow, you need to change the "main jet" size in your carb. You can buy a K&N dyno-jet kit- and it explains how to change the jet size. Lastly, and the CHEAPEST mod- is remove your air box lid. This lets the airfilter suck more air- again, you'll need to change the main jet to compensate for extra air flow (or your air/fuel mixture will be off).
For 15 bucks you can by a new front sprocket. Go with a smaller sprocket like a 13 or 14. This will give you more torque and bottem end- especially good for hill climbing- and it will help you pop wheelies. I put a 14t on mine and love it.