Hunting, Trapping, Game Management Discuss Bow and Fire Arm Hunting.

what to look for in a fishfinder

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2008, 04:12 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what to look for in a fishfinder

I have been thinking about getting a fishfinder I will be using it to find cod fish in the north atlantic. I have been looking at some inexpensive models $100-$250 at wal-mart and canadian tire the 4 I saw were Eagle Cuda 168, Humminbird 525, Humminbird piranahmax 210, and the Eagle 245 DS.
I'm new to finders so i have gathered that more power peak-peak is better, lcd resilution 240x240 is good, low khz better for deep water. Leaning towards 245ds or the 525 as they have more power better resilution.
Anyone have experiance with either of these I appreciate any helpful input. Do I need any accessory wires to connect it to the boat battery?

thanks

Old 12-28-2008, 08:21 AM
Weekend Warrior

I dont think the Hummingbird model on my 14' jon boat would be any comparison, so not much help there. Can tell you that I ran the supplied wiring that came with the unit straight to a hot source.

Old 12-28-2008, 10:41 AM
Trailblazer

You want to use this fish finder in the ocean and you're looking at wal-mart at low end units? I have never fished cod but since they are in the ocean, I would assume that the fish could/might be deep. Deeper then what low end fresh water fishing units are made for.

I would think that for a quality unit, you are going to have to up your price limit. I have a humminbird 797 for fishing on lakes in N. wis and I love it. I would look into something that has at least GPS, maping software, and a range that will show the water collum that you expect to fish.

I would save my money and get the hummingbird 1197 si (about 3000). It has a big screen, side imaging, and can take the map cards to get you home again.

Old 12-28-2008, 11:49 AM
Range Rover