Introduce Yourself Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself & let us know what you ride. PLEASE DO NOT ASK QUESTIONS FOR HELP IN THIS AREA. Your better off asking in the Brand Discussions Area.

Break in newbie

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2022, 04:23 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Break in newbie

Hi yall, hope all is well. I just bought a 2022 700r. I had an 06 years ago. To make it short, ive had bikes my whole life but ive never ever had a new one LOL so im new to the break in process. Ive only ever rebuilt car motors and trannies never any of my bikes. All my bikes were used when i got them so this is my first time ever having anything new.

Any positive or helpful feedback/tips is much appreciated.

Theres alot of debate on this. Some say to ride it hard from the start, some say to baby it.
I have about 3 hours on it right now since i bought it earlier this week. I havent done WOT pulls at all, havent been at extremely high rpms. Havent hit no more than maybe 1/4 to a quarter throttle throughout the gears for shirt bursts.
Neutral and 1st have been finicky but its getting better as i break it in so i think it just needs to be broken in.

this is new technology to me and its very much so different from my other bikes especially since its efi.

My only question, anatomy wise during this break in: Ive downshifted while learning the rpm ranges and even though ive rev matched, at times ive found im not used to the rpm range yet on this bike and i deff hear the rpm jump up to a much higher rpm range upon the downshift bc im still working on perfecting my rev match timing/coordination. Its much different than my cbr, obviously.