Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Vforce clicking noise

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2003, 09:18 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vforce clicking noise

I took my VForce in to get the recall work done (throttle cable), when I got it back it had a very definate clicking sound eminating from the plastic cover over the belt. Its sporatic like a rock in a can type of sound. I took it back and he's had it for days and says he still isn't sure what the cause is. He said maybe a valve or (forgive me I am not a mechanic) something about a tension rod?

Any of you experienced a sound like this? I am supposed to go to St Anthony this weekend, but I think my poor beast will still be out of commission.

Old 06-26-2003, 10:41 AM
Pro Rider

If he was to fix the throttle cable and thats it why would it come back with a noise someplace that has nothing to do with the throttle cable? I would get on his butt. Tell him to fix it and by the weekend. Theres no excuse for that.

To help figure out the rattle or tick explain how loud it is or what it sounds like. Then maybe we can help you out.

Old 06-26-2003, 01:21 PM
Trailblazer

or...it could be the same clinking noise that all V-Forces do while decelerating and thru choppy terrain, I am pretty sure this is common with both the V and the Prairies...just a thought............tarrat[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 06-26-2003, 02:55 PM
Pro Rider

this is true tarrat thats why we need to know when and how and so forth so we can see what it is.

Old 06-26-2003, 03:38 PM
Pro Rider

Ya know, those belted beasts have shoes in the drive pulley that could make that noise. The shoes make a tapping sound at idle on most of our 650s. It goes away when moving. It comes from the front of the belt cover. Get used to that one, you'll hear it a lot. It isn't bad, and it doesn't mean anything.

Could that be your noise?

Old 06-26-2003, 07:44 PM
Trailblazer