Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

lakota sport v.s z250

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2003, 06:14 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lakota sport v.s z250

in a drag.

Old 07-08-2003, 08:02 PM
Trailblazer

My wife rides a Lakota Sport '03 model.......it's a tough quad that's a blast to ride.....but, I wouldn't consider it "quick" or "fast" by any means.....although, I have ZERO experience with the z250......

Old 07-09-2003, 12:19 AM
Pro Rider

I think they are about the same on the top end, both toppping out in the low 50 mph range. With its lighter weight I think the z250 might just get there a little bit quicker. Look at my sig and see the mods I have on my lakota, this made the throttle response better and top end now is around the 56-57mph mark. Most people on this forum have gone with the same (or similar) mods I have and have about the same results. Before I got my raptor I rode my lakota all the time and always had a fun, its a good quad and very reliable. Its biggest disadvantage is the heavy weight, coming in at 450-460 lbs. I think the z250 weights in at around 360-370 range, thats a pretty big difference.

Old 07-09-2003, 12:54 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

I'm guessing that the Z250 would beat the Lakota. The Z250's top speed is supposed to be 55mph stock.

Old 07-09-2003, 12:36 PM
Trailblazer

Thanks for the good info Dirthead!......

I've wondered why my Lakota is so much heavier than my KFX400?.....almost 100 pounds difference!...that's a big disadvantage for the Lakota.....

I've also noticed the Lakota seems to have plenty of "grunt" for climbing hills, but the stock tires (Goodyear Terra) just don't work very well......they dig in very quickly......

Do the ITP Titan tires you have make "that" big a difference over the original Goodyear Terra tires?

ITP Titan Tires

They look similiar in design, although the ITP certainly looks a little better!.....