Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Synthetic oil for my V-Force.

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2003, 03:30 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Synthetic oil for my V-Force.

Hello to all,

Did the full service at 10 hours as described in the owners manual. Used Kawi filter and Kawachem oil. Now at 40 hrs and wanted to move to synthetic. Dealer said I should not use synthetic, only semi-synthetic. Something about a special coating in the cylinder walls and the synthetic would be too slick for the rings to produce compression? I don't claim to be a chemist but it did seem odd. I don't mind spending the big bucks on the very best synthetic. Heck, its only 2 quarts about once a year for my riding habits.

Whats the hot ticket on oil for the V-Force?

Old 12-19-2003, 06:02 PM
Pro Rider

enigima i use castrol syntec and have had no power loss. im no expert but i dont think you will lose power running synthitic oil. you could use any good synstitic in the vforce cause you dont have wet clutchs. my opinion

Old 12-19-2003, 06:04 PM
Pro Rider

I use mobil 1 in my v, ive never heard of anything about that. Dunno man.

Old 12-19-2003, 06:09 PM
Trailblazer

I use AmsOil in my P650 and really like it, however it's not as easy to buy as Mobil1. You have to order AmsOil and you can buy Mobil1 almost anywhere. Therefore I'd recommend the Mobil1 full synthetic.

Old 12-19-2003, 06:21 PM
Pro Rider

mobil 1 has proven it self for sure.

Old 12-19-2003, 10:28 PM
Weekend Warrior

Regular 10W-40 and filter after 5 hrs (it will scare you at the amount of "silver" thats in the oil that comes with the first couple of hours in a new engine), so I like to get that out pretty quick. Went to Mobil 1 at about 10 hrs. I change it every 400-500 miles. 1700 miles later....it doesn't use a drop.

Bill

Old 12-20-2003, 07:11 PM
Pro Rider