Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

BF650 Fan and Elec. Brake Problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2006, 08:59 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BF650 Fan and Elec. Brake Problems

I have a 2005 BF650. A buddy and I were out yesterday, and I ran into the first problems I have had with this machine. First, the hi engine temp light started flashing. I shut off the machine and noticed that the fan was not running. First place I checked was the fan breaker switch under the seat. I noticed that the breaker had not tripped, but as soon as I started playing with the wires, the fan started right up. Moving the wires back and forth I could get the fan to shut off and turn on. I found a spot where it seemed to be happy and wedged the wires so they would not move. Never had a problem for the rest of the day. Any thoughts on this? Thought I might take the connection apart and add a little electrical grease.
About half a mile later after restarting, I heard a very loud bang, and after having the hi temp light come on, I thought the worse. It also sounded like I had hit the metal footrests with a rock. It was so loud my buddy on his bike behind me said he heard it. I immediately stopped to investigate. I found no visual issues, so tried starting the bike, but a loud rattling noise was coming from the electric brake attached to the top of the cluth cover. When reved higher, the rattling went away. I did notice that the electric brake was no longer slowing the bike down while going down the hills. But it still does make the retracting sound when the bike is shut down. There is no difference when driving the bike itself, would never know anything is broke. Anyone have any thoughts on this or had anything like this happen to them????? Have not taken the little motor on the top of the clutch off yet, waiting to hear if anyone has any thoughts. Thanks, Brent

Old 11-11-2006, 08:34 AM
Trailblazer