Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

KFX 400 Problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2007, 05:27 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default KFX 400 Problem

First off Im really new to the ATV seen.. I just bought a brand new 06 kfx400, It has < 10 hrs on it. And now for my problem Ill get it out, Turn fuel line on, starts right away, sounds great, it runs great idle and riding around... BUT after about 10-20 mins of beating on it, it seems to just kinda die on me and will take about 5-10 mins to start back up and then after it starts runs fine.. but I never run it long enough to see if it does it again cuz i stop riding after..before this Ive took it out on a couple long period riding ventures and NEVER had this problem... until now.

One observation ive seen in the past the radiator fan kick on before but I never see it come on anymore..

Could it be over Heating?

What should I do?? Im afraid of riding it cuz I dont want to break it, if theres something horriblely wrong.

Old 11-12-2007, 07:35 PM
Pro Rider
Default KFX 400 Problem

When it dies, does it feel like it's running out of fuel (gradually) or it cuts out instantly? If it feels like running out of fuel feeling, it could be fuel tank venting system - carb's fuel bowl ging empty. To test, ride "easy" with the fuel cap open and see if you can duplicate the problem.

Old 11-13-2007, 11:29 AM
Range Rover
Default KFX 400 Problem

bad gas?

Old 11-14-2007, 06:23 PM
Pro Rider
Default KFX 400 Problem

You might have answered your own question. Check your temp. sensor or your fan fuse(if so equipped).

Old 11-14-2007, 09:05 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default KFX 400 Problem