Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

Fired up the Tecate 4!

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2003, 11:29 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fired up the Tecate 4!

Well I have been working on my Tecate for a few months now trying to get it together and find parts. Well I bought a freshly built engine from a guy and I just got it into the frame a couple days ago. Well today I went got some plugs and some gas got it all in there and on the first kick it fired right up. It sounds mean. Im not sure what kind of pipe its got looks kinda stock but was told the head pipe wasnt and that the silencer was stock. All I know is that it is loud it can be heard several blocks away. Cant wait to get it all together and take it for a ride. I still need rims, tires, rear wheel hubs, chain, and I still need to do some work on the swing arm and a-arms oh and I cant forget the various nuts and bolts that I need. Anyways just thought that I would share my excitement.

Old 03-15-2003, 11:35 PM
Range Rover

thats cool man.I used to have an 87 tecate 4 when I was about 15.Iwish I still had it but I was young and stupid.Good luck with your project.

Old 03-16-2003, 12:13 AM
Trailblazer

Thanks I cant wait to get it together. I got to figure out what Im going to do about the a-arms though. Im missing some of the I guess you would call them shims that fit in there. The little things that the bolt fits through. Im also missing one for the swing arm. The are kinda expensive and I think that I may be able to fix the problem with some really strong epoxy. Kinda like JB Weld. I kinda plan on getting some new a-arms on down the road and possibly a new swing arm that is extended a little. Im just trying to figure out a cheap fix. The little rubber seals that fit on all that stuff is trashed also. And that little stuff is expensive. As most of you already know.