Kawasaki Discussions about Kawasaki ATVs.

teacte 4

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2000, 02:45 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i own a 1988 tecate 250 and it had its problems, which i fixed, but it still leaks oil. i cant seem to find where it is coming from. i think it could be that i over filled the oil or it could be the o ring and dust seal near the front sprocket. i was also wondering if anyone could tell me some info on the tecates. mine is really nice it has an FMF pipe and silencer, boyesen rad valve and power reeds, and a wider axle. i would like to race it and was wondering if anyone could tell me if they are a good racing quad.

Old 04-23-2000, 12:23 PM
Pro Rider

As I've mentioned in other posts I'm a veteran when it comes to Kawasaki bikes. I've owned my Tecate for about 3 years now (an 87 Tecate 4). I was told the bike had undergone some major modifications in regards to the motor / exhaust system. I am completely unaware what was done to the bike, but let me say this. My friend (who owns a 250r 3-wheeler) which to some is considered the fastest atv out there will get blown away by my Tecate from a dead start or rolling up until 5th gear for me. Let me also mention I weigh almost 100lbs heavier than my friend and my bike is geared considerably higher (top speed) with the largest ratio available [15 tooth front - 39 tooth rear].

I'm about to change the front sprocket down to a 13 which will make a world of difference and actually utilize 6th gear instead of use it as an overdrive!