Land, Trail and Environmental Issues Discuss political and social events effecting where we ride. Do not enter here unless you are willing to disagree with the statements made. What happens in this forum and Sub-Forums stays in these forums.

Can ride double?

Old 08-08-2004, 06:48 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can ride double?

Hiya,

I just bought a new ATV Honda and my daughter and I love it! I was wondering if there was any laws in Michigan that say we cant ride double on ATV trails? (I know the manufactor says no doubles). I was thinking of heading to the Traverse City ones. I cant really afford 2 ATVs right now so I thought we could take turns out on the trails for some enjoyment. Also do the trails cost any money to ride on?

Appreciate any help on this topic as I am a newb at this whole thing.

Old 08-08-2004, 10:04 PM
Pro Rider
Default Can ride double?

i'm not sure if you can ride double i have seen alot of people do it and it is free if it is on state land which i think traverse city is. what kind of ATV did you get? welcome to the forums

Old 08-08-2004, 11:45 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default Can ride double?

Nothing special I suppose. Its a Honda Recon ES 250. The 350 was only 400.00 more but just to big I thought for me (im female and new to this).

Looks like you got a cool Banshee [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Thanks for welcome and the reply

Old 08-09-2004, 09:36 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Can ride double?

Legal or not, controling an ATV is often about subtle changes in body position and weight distribution. Sure, you can probably safely ride double on a flat, straight road, but out on the trail you need to be constantly moving around, adjusting to the terrain. That is difficult when you have a passenger, and the more technical the trail, the worse it will be!