ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community

ATVConnection.com ATV Enthusiast Community (https://atvconnection.com/forums/)
-   Other ATV Topics (https://atvconnection.com/forums/other-atv-topics/)
-   -   ORV/ATV SAFETY CLASS? (https://atvconnection.com/forums/other-atv-topics/258759-orv-atv-safety-class.html)

dafuzz89 04-11-2007 11:09 PM

ORV/ATV SAFETY CLASS?

Well It seems that I have opened a hornets nest with the question of where to get my daughter trained. I personally feel that the mandatory class is BS. I have been riding all sorts of orv's for over thirty years and feel that my knowledge and experience is enough to pass on to my child but because of some irresponsible a-holes now I have to spend time and money to have someone else teach my kid what I can!

LEP7MM 04-11-2007 11:59 PM

ORV/ATV SAFETY CLASS?

dafuzz,

you may be an exception to the norm. The powers that be have no way to tell if parents have the skill set to pass onto their kids. As evidenced by the number of serious injuries and fatalities in the country every year, it shows that too many parents have no clue on what to teach their kids or even possess the skills to be safe operators themselves.

I've seen both sides of the spectrum within the last 2 weeks. First, there were 2 dads with their sons on the back of their machines (single rider machines) going from one side of the ditch to the other and eventually onto the road surface then jumping off a field approach with their kids also being airborn until the ATV touched down again. I turned around and stopped ahead of both machines to stop and have a discussion with both of them. They wanted nothing of it. In fact I'm not afraid to say that these guys were d!cks. Had I been an actual law enforcement person, they would have gotten the book thrown at them for the numerous infractions.