Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

"AWD" has mind of its own!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2003, 10:54 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "AWD" has mind of its own!!!

Hi, I'm a newbie to your forum, Very informative by the way, and I have a small problem with my '97 explorer. When I press the AWD button, sometime it lites on sometimes it doesn't.. I shift back and forth a few times then it comes on. Is there a switch in by the tranny lever going bad or is it something in the wiring? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.... Honcho

Old 07-25-2003, 07:54 AM
Pro Rider

Try taking the switch apart and cleaning the contacts real well and see if it fixes the problem.

Old 07-25-2003, 09:39 AM
Pro Rider

Maybe it's just being honest. Polaris AWD doesn't engage unless the machine senses some slippage in the rear tires. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Seriously, though, I'd check the contacts, as mentioned, I'd also check the light itself, perhaps the bulb/led/whatever is going. Is the machine actually going into AWD? Perhaps the problem is bigger?

Old 07-25-2003, 04:43 PM
Trailblazer

thats not true i have a 97 scram and it gose from the trany to the front transfer case then to the fron differential the chains spin all the time until you take the center drive chain off. when you press the button it's suppose to lock in the front hubs. check the oil in the hubs cause mine did the same thing til I put more oil in them.

Old 07-28-2003, 12:47 AM
Trailblazer

Pechmial
Polaris AWD is engaged when you press the AWD button... This energizes the electromagnet coils in the front hubs and you have full four wheel drive...