Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

need to replace speedo?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2006, 12:49 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need to replace speedo?

I bought my 2000 sportsman 500 used and the speedo is broken. I was wondering how hard it would be to replace it myself and where i could get the speedo at.

Old 01-05-2006, 09:58 PM
Trailblazer

The speedo is about the easiest thing to change on your bike. Unfortunantly, it's not the cheapest...

You might get lucky and find a used one on eBay, otherwise you'll have to get a new one from your dealer.

Old 01-05-2006, 11:12 PM
Pro Rider

Buy a used one on ebay, unless someone in forums has one for you.
Ken

Old 01-05-2006, 11:43 PM
Range Rover

have u checked the cable. My 500 doesnt work and it is the cable not the actual speedo

Old 01-05-2006, 11:49 PM
Weekend Warrior

how do i tell whether it is the speedo or the cable? sorry im new to this. Also, do i have to stick to the same speedo i have right now or can i go with a newer year speedo?

Old 01-05-2006, 11:54 PM
Range Rover

dont know about the newer speedo thing but i know that somehow the cable spins. My dad was showing me a couple years ago but ours is frozen. if ur cable doesnt spin then that is probaly what it is. Sry i know that probaly isnt the answer you were looking for mabey someone can help more on the cable

Old 01-06-2006, 12:14 AM
Weekend Warrior

is there any internet site that i would be able to order the parts from? It looks like its about 250 to buy a speedo from the dealer.

Old 01-06-2006, 12:05 PM
Pro Rider

Is there a cable coming into the back side of the speedo. (can't miss it its a 5/16 or 3/8" diameter stiff round cable with a a thumb nut holding it on to the speedo. Just unscrew it and look at the square shaft inside to see if it turns when you drive. Or stick a pencil or something into the back of the speedo and spin it to see if the needle moves.