Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

octane level??

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2006, 10:18 PM
Ride like you own it, Not like it's stolen!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default octane level??

What kind of fuel are most of you running??The higher the octane the faster the combustion will be and performance will be at it's best along with clearer engine!!and don't forget about better fuel millage.most utility type atv's were built to use a lower octane level I think!!REG-87%....midgrade-89%.....super-91% It will be intresting to see the input from all the riders out there!!!!!

Old 05-18-2006, 10:42 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default octane level??

I am a cert mechanic and can tell you that with out a doubt using higher octane fuel is a waste of money. Just because you put a higher octane fuel does not mean it will run better. In fact in most cases it will run worse or no change at all. Higher octane burns at a higher temperature and only works as it is supposed to in higher compression engines. A 12:1 compression will require a higher octane. If you use a low octane fuel in a higher compression motor it will melt. Most likely you will not notice any difference between 87-91,92,93 octane in a 4 stroke motor. 2 strokes run at a higher compression and to help with pre detonation it is recommended to use 91-93 octane but not the case in 4 strokes. A lower octane will combust quicker than a higher octane. 2 strokes you will get pre detonation with the lower octane fuels because it burns hotter but it will not burn all the fuel in the cylinder so you get the pre detonation.

Old 05-18-2006, 11:41 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default octane level??

Yeah, what he said..[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img][img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-cool.gif[/img]

Old 05-18-2006, 11:50 PM
Pro Rider
Default octane level??