Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2004 polaris sportsman 90

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2008, 02:13 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 polaris sportsman 90

Hi everyone. I am new to ATVs and the forum.

I just purchased a Used 2004 Sportsman 90 for my kids. It ran great at first, or so I thought and it recently started giving me problems. After the kids were riding it for the second time a friend noticed that there was no smoke coming from the exhaust and it being a 2 stroke, there should be a little. it was driven a few more times before stalling out. We took the top end off and the Cylinder and piston were o.k. We also cleaned and blew out the carb. After everything was put back together it starts o.k. but as soon as you give it full throttle it wants to stall and the choke at idle has to be almost all the way on for it to stay running. If anyone has any ideas let me know. We think its the carb, but again we cleaned out and cannot see where any of the jets are clogged

Thanks everyone for their time and any help they can offer

Old 10-18-2008, 01:24 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

maybe something got knocked out of adjustment when you blew on the carb. check the air filter to see if its dirty and check for any air leaks. if the choke has to be on then its not getting enough fuel with the amount of air it has available to the motor. might even need a top end job. check compression then do a leak down test on it. or instead of leak down try spraying carb cleaner around all gaskets and if the idle goes up then you know there is a problem there. with two strokes its a pretty comon problem.

Old 10-18-2008, 03:13 AM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks for the info. I will do the leak test and see what happens. I already checked the top end and the piston,,riings, and sleeve all looked o.k.
I greatly appreciate you taing the time to help out. I will keep in touch and let you know when its fixed and the actual cause.