Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

New to forum & new to ATVing

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2009, 01:15 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to forum & new to ATVing

Hi everyone, and Happy New Year. I am new to the ATV riding thanks to my son. He has been riding for about 6 years now. Ever since he met his wife. Her whole family ride, and they got hm into it. I used to ride dirt bikes way back in my miss spent youth in the 70's. Had a Kawasaki 350 Bighorn. If any of you rember back then, it was a 2-cycle with rotory valve that gave it torque like a 4-stroke. A real "tractor" of a 2-stroke.
My first experiance on an ATV was last July. I could have ridden my daughter-in law's 250 Can-Am, but not me. No, I had to ride my son's tricked out Kawasaki KFX700. A great little starter bike to learn on, right? Learn I did, on the second day when I hooked a berm on the left side of the trail which jerked the bars from my hand. Then when grabbing the bars, I hit the throttle and sent the Kawi straight to the sky! Thought I recovered OK until I hit the dirt berm on the other side of the trail, and rolled it over. The first thought was "OK, notheig hurts too bad and I can still move everything". Second thought was "How bad did I screw-up his plastics". And the third thing was " I gotta get me one of these!". Oh yea, then there was the thought of how am I going to get out from under this thing?
One friday afternoon in late August I stopped to see an old friend, and co-worker who now owns Chesterfield Valley Power Sports in Chesterfield Missouri. There it was on the showroom floor. A brand new leftover 2007 800 Sportsman Delux. Blue/Black with rear rack extensions, winch, alloy wheels, and dual exhaust. Best of all a great price! Now I have my own quad to roll over.