Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

02 scrambler 400 questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2010, 05:42 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 scrambler 400 questions

hi guys im new to polaris machines and going to look at a scrambler saturday, the guy is a china quad dealer took this in trade. are ther any issues, things i should look for when i test ride it?? it looks mint, alum wheels, new tires, he said hed take 1400 cash ,it will be for my kids they've never ridden a quad u had to shift so the auto thing got my attention, does this sound like a good price?? should i trust the oil injection, or mix? ive heard horror stories of those failing on other quads thanks for any tips

Old 03-04-2010, 10:44 PM
Range Rover

Good price if everything checks out. The compression value would be nice to know. Check the counter balance oil dip stick for signs of coolant. The dip stick is a PITA to get to, its under the air box to the right of the carb. Other than that look over everything else you would look for on most any bike.

Old 03-04-2010, 11:03 PM
Range Rover

Overlooked your question on the oil injection. I am using the oil pump on my 400L, after going through it, ie; cleaning and checking oil usage. I have heard various opinions on this site about, to mix or not to mix. Some say that it is a very reliable oiling system, this is from members that have my respect. Thus I decided to go with it after running 40:1 pre mix for my top end rebuild.

Old 03-04-2010, 11:36 PM
Trailblazer