Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

2003 sportsman of course... no spark

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2016, 01:17 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 sportsman of course... no spark

Hi I'm new to the thread. I bought a 03 700 sportsman carb model I'm lost on it just installed the rm stator ignition fix kit and drum roll.... no spark still... it does not have any coolant in the machine or the correct battery either... can that cause a no spark.. need some in site thank you

Old 01-24-2016, 07:50 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Need to have the correct 30 amp battery that's called for or an equivalent. Item #10 in the parts break down. Dirt Cheap Yamaha, Polaris, Suzuki & Kawasaki OEM Parts & Accessories – Cycle Parts Warehouse but I'd recheck your connections. No coolant in the machine wouldn't affect spark,but not good on the water pump seal to constantly spin it dry. I know people have installed the cheaper RM stator kits which uses the stock Ducati light coil in the stator as the source of ignition. This coil can fail same as the main source coil and most people don't realize that. If it does,you're stuck. Then you have to find another Ducati stator. For this main reason I've never been crazy about these kits and imo they're a bypass or cheap fix to a ignition system that has a history of failures. Yes the cost is half of what the complete Kokusan kit costs, but I'd try first to retrace your steps on the hookup and get the correct battery and go from there.

Old 01-24-2016, 12:40 PM
Trailblazer

Originally Posted by old polaris tech