Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Exhaust nuts 400 two stroke

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2016, 03:12 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust nuts 400 two stroke

I started playing around with the scrambler I just bought and I am in the process of redoing all the stupid stuff the previous owner did to the machine. Have to adjust the clutch cover so it doesn't rub, reroute the throttle cable so it's not binding and giving the ETC fits and find a few nuts and bolts to make the plastic all tight on the body again. I got it running and was greeted with a smooth running motor but very loud from the front of the engine. Apparently, when the motor was rebuilt, they cross threaded the brass nuts that hold the exhaust flange to the cylinder and it was loose. I have a new gasket but I am having a tough time taking the cross threaded nut off since the previous owner rounded it off nicely. I'm a pretty quiet person, but I found a few swear words I haven't used in a while and they came out pretty fluently today while trying to remove the nut. Can I just split this thing with a chisel to remove the nut and put a regular nut back on or does it have to be a brass one? I can't get a 6 point socket on this thing since the flange has a recess to it that won't allow the socket to go straight on and it is on the clutch side of the motor so space is limited and make a vice grip tough to get in there.

Thanks,
Mike

Old 12-03-2016, 06:14 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts