Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Age old question SC400 or SC500?

Old 01-07-2000, 05:24 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I know that similar subjects have been touched upon already several times in the past, but I am looking for any input I can get. I am going to be buying a new quad soon and it's looking like the Scrambler is the only quad out there that has what I need (reverse, power, 4WD, sportiness, comfort). The big question at this point is which engine do I want. I am right now leaning toward the 400L because it is so much easier to get more power out of it than the 500 thumper and I really like to tweak things. The only quad I have ever owned was a ‘87 Warrior (fun ride, not enough power) and I have little experience with 2 stroke engines the only 2 strokes I currently own are my two Yamaha Pro VXR 700 Waverunners and my weedeater I will mostly be riding wooded trails, not really tight trails though, most are large enough for a 4 wheel drive jeep to pass through. I know that 2 stroke engines do not normally have huge amounts of torque on the low end and that they tend to develop most of their HP on the top end of their power band. I guess I am worried that I will have problems with the 400L if I am riding some of the slower, rockier, more technical sections of the trail I might not have enough torque at low speeds to get me through without bouncing on and off the throttle a bunch. I was originally planning on getting the ‘00 SC500 but my local dealer has some leftover ‘99 400's still in the crate for what he called "a good deal" at the time I didn't ask the price because I only wanted the 500 but the more I think about it, the 400 might be just what the doctor ordered. What do you guys think would be a good price for a ‘99 SC400? I could obviously save some money here by getting last years model but don't want to do this if the ‘00 model has anything on it that is "new and improved". OK I am rambling here so anyway let me know what you t