Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Opinions on my next mod....

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2001, 08:53 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Guys,

I currently have a '98 Sport with an RcR Stage 1 kit (mid-range pipe), and a 42mm TMX carb. I was happy with the results from these two mods, but I would really like to get a little bit more top end out of her. I had thought of putting on a new sprocket, but I don't really want to do something that will sacrifice my low end. How much of a gain will I see from Boyesen Reeds? For best results I'm guessing I should buy them with the Rad Valve right (well I guess if you buy the Valve they come with it anyway)?

I'd rather stay away from porting, because I'm not really experienced with that stuff, and it looks like it is pretty risky business.

Like I said, I want to get some more top end out of it, but still keep the nice low end power that it's got now. Thanks for any suggestions.

-Josh

Old 07-07-2001, 09:43 PM
Range Rover

Piranha,

If you want gobs of low end, there is nothing like a "big bore kit". Because of the angles of the ports, with a big bore kit they will be lower thus resulting in tons of low end power.

Oddly enough from everyone I've heard the Boyessen Rad Valve gives better low end than the Delta V-Force reeds, which are geared toward more top end performance.

Don't be afraid of a port job, if you lose a little low end, it isn't that much of a big thing on these Polaris machines. You just push the throttle a little more and you're there.

A word about sprockets, you have the smallest rear and ther biggest front sprocket they make. If you want more speed, you'll have to get more RPMs ourt of the motor. If you decide to go with a port job, do your self a favor and get a Wiseco piston put in. the stock piston doesn't respond well to mods.

Hope this helped!

Old 07-07-2001, 09:53 PM
Pro Rider

Thanks Mike,