Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

Farmer needs help Mag. or Sportsman

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2000, 03:44 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been watch this forum the last couple
of days,and its been very helpful.I am a dairy farmer,and I use the quad for daily trips back forth to work.Every morning 4 a.m. and back and forth all day long, so I need a quad that can handle these short half-mile trips without much hesitation.Or spitting and sputtering.The 4 stroke I think will do the job. Dealers tell me I could get a coolant heater, was wondering if thats needed in 10 to 20 degree weather? Next thing is the spray boom attachment.I am very interested in that.For spot spraying fields, could save lots of money. But have doubts on the sportsmans indepentent susp. Will it squat down and handle funny with a heavy load? Would the magnum be better? The only reason I favor the magnum is,its cheaper and I dont think I really need the EBS. I have a dealer down to 6000 for sportsman 500.Anybody find anything better than that. He said he could get me acc. at 20% off.Any other opinions would be much appreciated!! Need to make a decision soon, my 400 sport cant handle this cold weather at all.Gone thru 6 plugs in 2 weeks,and I need a tax write off this year anyway. Thanx for all your help

Old 01-18-2000, 05:51 PM
Pro Rider

What ever you get, maybe you should have them
replace the factory springs right away with heavy duty longer springs to handle the loads
better. I have a polaris atv and I have noticed that they do need a pretty good warm up before taking off, especially in the winter. Since money is a concern to. You might want to check out what I have. The year 2000 polaris xpedition 425 cc 5 speed. Its gear ratio gives you allot of power for hauling, pulling, what ever. In the winter, I add a little isophropol in the gas tank to and that really helps. I got mine on sale for