Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

Help just bought lt250r!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2004, 07:07 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help just bought lt250r!!!!

I just bought a 89 suzuki lt250r. after riding it for a little while, it sometimes just shuts off. when i try to restart it the kick start won't move at all. then the last time this happened we let it sit for a couple minutes and when i tried the kickstart again there was no compression. I'm new to 4 wheelers and don't know alot about 2 strokes. somebody help me, i'm addicted to riding this thing and now i can't

Old 05-29-2004, 08:07 PM
Trailblazer

Just wondering did you even test ride the 89 250r?? Well i myself just recently got a 85 lt 250r, so i cant really help you..

Old 05-30-2004, 11:46 AM
Weekend Warrior

yes i test rode it, it ran very strong for a few days until this. i'm takin the top end off today

Old 05-30-2004, 02:28 PM
Pro Rider

you dont have to take the engine out to do just a top end.

Old 05-30-2004, 02:44 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

dont forget to disconect the powervalve linkage

Old 05-30-2004, 04:56 PM
Pro Rider

Piston swelling,overheating problem,do to the carb is too lean.My Zilla did the samething when I first bought it.I test rode it and all was fine,but I did'nt ask the guy what kind of riding he did so,after I took it out for the first time riding with friend's I had the same problem's,shut right off and could'nt kick it over,let it sit and cool off I could kick it over.Well anyway's I took the engine to Vito and he showed and explained to me that the engine was running too lean,the exhaust side of the piston was a mess,scared up bad.I had him put a fresh top end in it and bought a new carb and that cured the problem's.The carb that was on it was and out dated Mikuni,so I got a new one from FTZ racing real good carb 41mm smooth bore flat slide,Won many race's with it,then I learned about the Lectron carb,now that's on it.