Technical and How-To Articles Post your Tech Tips and How-to articles here. Photo illustrations welcome

Help with throttle/choke cable

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2009, 08:06 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with throttle/choke cable

I was trying to take the carb out of my bike because its been sitting for a long while and could use a clean(something i have never done before :O, thought i would give it a try). The bike is a 95 polaris magnum 425 4x4. It was going great until i got to the throttle and choke cable and realize i have no idea how to unhook them. If anyone has any insight on this it would be appreciated if you would share. Thanks

Old 06-25-2009, 11:15 AM
Pro Rider

If the choke is a mechanical choke then there should be a part that unscrews from the carb and the choke is lke a little plunger that slides out. The little ball on the end of the choke cable is slid into a slid and sometimes barely held in place by a small spring. On my AC the choke cable goes through a little cap that you can unscrew and pull out. The cable passes through the cap and attached to the choke plunger. Don't forget to clean the choke plunger as it can stick if it gets gummed up.

Throttle cable should have a little plastic cover that covers up the end of the cable on the carb. Remove that cover and you should see a rotating cam/pulley looking mechanism that the partially wraps around and connects to. Reach in and turn the cam/pulley as far as it will go (mine turns counter clock wise) and hold the cam/pulley there. There should now be a loop of slack in the throttle cable. Using a needle nose pliers reach in and remove the end of the cable from its slot and gently release the cam/pulley. Now you need to undo a lock nut and unscrew the cable body from the cab housing. This nut and or the place it connects is sometimes covered by a small rubber boot on the cable.