Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

Manual or Automatic?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2004, 03:45 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Manual or Automatic?

I am just trying to figure out why the market is becomed overwhelmed with automatics. I ride a manual tranny and I wouldn't want to switch to an auto. My conclusion is that the number of new riders is on the way up and auto is just easier for less experienced riders, but I am not saying that is the only reason.

My question is What do you prefer, why, and what year did you start riding?

I started riding atv's in 1984

Ryan

Old 12-06-2004, 04:20 PM
Super Quad Patrol
Athens Archery Field Staff
Best lunch hour ever!

I started out on a 1980-something honda trx70 in 1987. It is a manual shift, and still running great for my 7 year old son. I have owned both autos and manuals, and I prefer the manuals. I always have and I dont think any quad would change my mind. I just love to have the abilty to shift. I think the autos are geared towards people that just want to get on and go, not having to worry about shifting.

Old 12-06-2004, 04:58 PM
Pro Rider

I have never owned 4WD quad but am in the market for one. I also would prefer manual tranny. I actually would also like to have std manual clutch also but no option here.
Some time ago there was thread on reliability of std trannys in big bores. Most of comments was about Vinson 500 electric shift. Another good option is now the Foreman 500 (475cc) ES or foot shift.
I have been riding motorcycles since Nebuchadrezzar and been riding quads one year.

Old 12-06-2004, 06:07 PM
K2
Trailblazer

I'm probably considered one of the newer riders you refer to... I ride a Rubicon and LOVE the auto tranny. I have been riding since about '98 and started on a 450 Foreman that has a manual shift. It was fun shifting and all, but once I got the Ruby it was no contest (for me).