Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

snow plowing (auto or manual)

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2005, 11:32 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default snow plowing (auto or manual)

I'm new to the atv scene and need one for plowing snow, I'll be plowing a driveway thats about 350-400 ft long. My question is what would work best for this an automatic or manual transmission, are the automatics durable enough to plow snow or will I be burning up clutches. And would a 400 be big enough for this job.

Old 06-21-2005, 11:56 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

either one would be good.... auto you would have low range which is good for plowing and manual u'll have w/e gear you want....yes most autos are durable....A 400 will get the job done.

Old 06-21-2005, 01:41 PM
Got Milk!
Blaming Guns For Crime Is Like Blaming a Spoon for Rosie O'Donnell being Fat!

I have a 600' + driveway, and have no problems plowing with my 400. I also recommend an auto, they are a lot easier to switch between forward and reverse. I do a lot of plowing up here, and never had any problems. Be sure to get a 60" blade, anything smaller is a waste if you ask me. What kind of ATV are you looking for? If plowing is going to be the main duty, check out the Arctic Cat or even a Polaris. You will want IRS and lots of ground clearance. Good luck!

Old 06-21-2005, 03:11 PM
Weekend Warrior

I'm looking at a 05 Arctic cat 400 auto 4x4 it has a 50" plow, winch and a 5x8 trailer to haul it on for $6,500, does that sound like a good deal.

Old 06-21-2005, 03:50 PM
Got Milk!