Where to Ride Share info on your favorite riding spot or ask others where to ride.

Mahwah, NJ

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2003, 09:02 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mahwah, NJ

Sucks!
I don't want to insult anybody's backyard but what a disappointment.
I live in Monroe and for years have seen cars with trailers parked in that dirt lot along the Thruway (and sometimes saw quads from the highway). I have always wanted to buy a quad and ride there.
Yesterday some friends went to ride in Monticello but I think I got up too late so I figured I would check out Mahwah...it was pretty boring. I am new to riding but this place was just not challenging. It was real small and had no hills (some guy there said that all the rain eroded some of the hills).
Anyone that will go to Mahwah should also check out Tezt in Middletown, NY. Only about a 40 minute ride from there and way more fun.
If anyone is interested let me know and I can give you directions.
Goss50

Old 11-24-2003, 08:17 PM
Pro Rider
Default Mahwah, NJ

Goss50,

You didn't even touch on the trails there. you have to know how to get under the thruway through the culvert and up on to "stag hill". That's where the riding is. That takes you onto the power line which is real hairy, bring an extra set of ba!!s with you, riding. The trails go no for hours and they are very challenging. Not for the weak of heart i tell you. Unfortunately, Mahwah has been a bust as of late. The cops regularly hang out and wait for people to ride there. They WILL take your bike. They are not warning people anymore!! Be very careful if you choose to ride there. If you must, I recommend parking on the power line with your vehicle and offload there. If you park in the big field, you are taking a chance. The trick is to find the powerline from route 17. I dont really go there anymore cause of the hassle.