Where to Ride Share info on your favorite riding spot or ask others where to ride.

Louisiana/Texas

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2005, 11:57 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Louisiana/Texas

I'm looking for places to ride within an hour or so dive. I live in Sulphur, LA it's about 20 miles from texas. I'm new to this atv thing so I don't need anything too challenging. Also, do most places require helmets?

Thanks guys,

Old 05-11-2005, 02:32 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default Louisiana/Texas

There are two places I know of within an hour of Sulphur. The old Texas Long horn club on the Texas side is now a motor cross track. Not sure the hours its open but looks like fun.

Second is Holly Beach. But you have to go outside of town on the beach to ride. No atvs allowed near the beach towards town.

If you get a wild hair, La. Dunes is about 1 1/2 away from sulphur, near Forest Hill, Louisiana.

Old 05-11-2005, 05:48 PM
Trailblazer
Default Louisiana/Texas

Thanks DSrider,

What are the dunes like? trails or wide open? I can ride the pipelines here but I'm looking for some trails through the woods with some climbing and, of course, some mud.

Old 05-11-2005, 06:18 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default Louisiana/Texas

La. Dunes is a 500+ acre sand pit. It does have a few trails, a creek and does offer some mud riding.

If your looking for mud and trials. Try Camp Claibourne just 10 minutes north of La. Dunes. Or try the Kisatchie forest on the west side of the Forest, trip is about 1 1/2 hours to the north of Lake Charles, and approximatly 20 minutes north of Leesville on Hwy 117. If you need directions let me know.

Old 05-12-2005, 03:35 AM
Weekend Warrior
Default Louisiana/Texas

The LA Dunes is alot of fun.
On the Texas side there is a State Forrest at Call, Texas. The name is O.C. Seikee State Forrest. Several thousand acres of trails. There are no rules that I know of.