Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

why are raptors best?

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2004, 11:41 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default why are raptors best?

i've read on this forum for a few days and noticed a lot of people use rappy's instead of the other 4 strokes. why are they better? from what i understood a ds was faster. but i noticed its harder to get parts for them than rappy's. do a lot of people say rappy's are better because a lot of people own them and just support whatever they bought? im new to the sport atv's so i just thought i would ask why rappy's are better.

Old 03-28-2004, 11:44 PM
Pro Rider

Originally posted by: thestockest
do a lot of people say rappy's are better because a lot of people own them and just support whatever they bought?
pretty much but IMO they're pretty nice bikes.

Old 03-28-2004, 11:48 PM
Weekend Warrior

yes they are very nice bikes but i was just wondering what puts them ahead of the ds and other big 4 strokes?

Old 03-28-2004, 11:48 PM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This can be a touchy subject with non-raptor riders, but here it goes...

The raptor is in the top group of quads as far as speed goes. It, the ds, the yfz, the trx450, and the predator are all in the same speed class; fast.
The raptor is the only bike in the above group with reverse, a definite plus for trail and recreational riders.
The raptor makes a lot of hp with just a pipe and filter, cheap mods considering the hp gain.
The raptor has been very reliable since the tranny issues were resolved in 2002.
The raptor has a lot of aftermarket parts availible for it, and has great potential for hp and speed.
The raptor has lots of low end torque which makes it fun to ride.
The raptor is a very good trail machine that has an advantage in tight trails due to its width.

There are more, but I think you get the idea of where I have been going with this.

Old 03-28-2004, 11:55 PM
Weekend Warrior