Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Blaster woes!

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2004, 08:01 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blaster woes!

I recently purchased a 2000 Blaster for my son. The machine is in great shape, and started on the 1st or 2nd kick every time. The oil injection has been removed, so we're mixing fuel. After about 15 hours, we started to have a couple of problems that seem to be getting worse. I have no experience with 2 cycles, so I'm a little lost. Here's what's happening, and what I've tried so far.

The machine became hard to start. Kick after kick.... no good. Finally, I would tow the machine to "jump" start it. In addition, the idle doesn't come down after the machine runs for a few minutes. It's seems to "hang-up" and race at a very high idle. Not even an idle, really.

I've done the obvious things... Spark plug, air cleaner, etc. Yesterday, I removed the carbureator and took the bowl off. There was some sediment in the bowl, so I gave it a cleaning. Everything else appeared fine, (not that I know what to look for) and the machine started right up, (2nd kick) when we put it back together. It ran great at first, and I thought we had it fixed, but after a few minutes it was racing again.

I should also mention that the machine has a twist throttle. Maybe that's the problem???

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've called to schedule service work, but everybody's telling me that they can't even look at the machine until the end of July, and I hate to make my son wait that long to ride.

Thanks,
Bud

Old 07-09-2004, 08:14 AM
Pro Rider
Default Blaster woes!