Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Recomendation for new throttle Raptor 700

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2009, 06:19 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recomendation for new throttle Raptor 700

After riding for the last few days several hours each day I'm finding that I don't really like the thumb throttle that it comes with and is wearing my thumb out. I know one option is to suck it up and my thumb will eventually get stronger. I've found twist throttles but unsure as the bumpy trails might not go so well with a twist style but I have no experience on that just street bikes which is no problem. I know every magazine suggests getting a new lighter springed throttle for the past few years on the YFZ450's but couldn't find anything when I did a quick search. What's you guys experiences and recomendations. Trying to keep price down too obviously so no need for any of these billet products out there for like 150 bucks.

Old 01-01-2009, 11:19 PM
Pro Rider
I ride, because football, basketball, and baseball only uses one ball!

Twist throttles are for dirt/street bikes! You would think a twist throttle would be the same on a 4 wheeler, but it's not. When you ride a motorcycle, you lean the bike to turn it, so the twist throttle is usually the same distance away from you at all times. On a 4 wheeler you actually turn the bars, so you constantly have to extend and retract your arm - not good for a twist throttle. I have seen some hairy situations happen because of twist throttles on 4 wheelers(some of which was probably operator error). I think you just need to do some thumb exercises and you will be fine. The Raptor 700 has one of the lightest throttles I have ever felt.

They make a universal thumb throttle extender you can get that may help for around $12.

Old 01-02-2009, 12:02 AM
Trailblazer