Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Axle/A-arms Versus Spacers

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2010, 03:24 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Axle/A-arms Versus Spacers

Hey guys,
I have a chance to get a used durablue +2+4 axle, and some +2 burguard a arms for my warrior. I was wondering how much better this set-up is than some wheel spacers. I can get front and back wheel spacers for $300 less, and use the $300 for something else. Once again I am very new to ATV's so if this is a stupid question I apologize!!! I know it might be a good deal, but what are the benefits over wheel spacers.......... thanks in advance

Old 03-08-2010, 03:41 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Knows Old ATV Questions!
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The spacers are more likely to cause front wheel bearing problems and a bent rear axle due to the extra force the wheels put on stock components. If you never jump the quad this route may work out, but it isn't a good idea if you ride fast/hard, or jump. The arms and axle are the best upgrade path as long as the used parts are in serviceable condition.

Old 03-08-2010, 03:45 PM
Trailblazer

Yeah they look fine. I will pretty much just be trail riding. I do not plan on doing any jumps, but I have not been out on the trails, so they might be rough on the spacers. Might go with the used parts.....

Old 03-08-2010, 11:42 PM
Trailblazer

Can I use my stock shocks with the +2 a arms or do I have to modify/change shocks??

Old 03-09-2010, 08:43 AM
Range Rover

I run spacers on my raptor but just run it in rodeos, TT races, and some drag races. I wouldn't recommend spacers either if your jumping or running rough trails.

As for the shocks it is going to depend if those arms are long travel or not. Here is a link to the burgard products for the warrior http://www.burgardcycle.com/xcart/home.php?cat=25. They do same something about needing to ream the spindles with the extended a arms.

Old 03-09-2010, 03:01 PM
Extreme Pro Rider