Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

What quad should i get?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2001, 02:43 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello people!
This is my first time here because i have been wanting to get a quad for the past few months. I am 5'7 ,140 pounds. I was womdering what quad i should get. I would like a warrior or a 300ex because I feel they would be a good size for me. I'm sure you guys have responded to many other posts like this but i would like if you could give me a comparison between the two. I will mostlikely be riding on trails and maybe in a few hare scrambles. We will also be moving in a few months to our new house which is out in the middle of a old farm field but I can see some wooded areas down the street. My dad also has said that we can build our own motocross track in our backyard if we want. So i am looking with a quad that will be good in trails, Harescrambles, and maybe a few jumps. Thanks for your time!

Old 04-01-2001, 03:33 PM
Pro Rider

From the kinda riding you say you plan to do, I would skip both of those quads and go for a Raptor or 400ex.

Old 04-01-2001, 04:37 PM
Pro Rider

Definitly go with a 400 ex if possible.......you will regret it if you don't

Old 04-01-2001, 05:50 PM
Weekend Warrior

well i have only one problem with that. I am only 14 and a 400ex would seem to big for me.Any other suggestions?

Old 04-01-2001, 08:50 PM
Pro Rider

Why do you say a 400ex is too big? The 400ex is lighter and easier to man-handle on the trail. Don't let the motor size scare you, you will be just fine! Just take it easy, and you will grow into it.
Look at it this way, buy something small (warrior or 300ex) right now, and in 1yr you will want a bigger bike, get the bigger one now. Otherwise you will have to try to sell the Warrior or 300ex, lose money, and still wind up getting a 400ex or something like that.

Old 04-01-2001, 11:38 PM
Weekend Warrior