Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

yes, the raptor does handle in the woods.

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2002, 04:37 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

this is for all the raptor owners out there that hear how poorly their quad handle in the woods. this is my first year of racing harescrambles and cross country and all i've seen this year is a sea of red and yellow. well sunday this 37 year old ,gray haired man cracked the top ten at a wnyoa race. i was 3rd in the vet class (had the holeshot, lead 1/2 the first lap smacked a tree, got the lead back and got stuck, settled down and rode clean the rest of the way)and 10th over all out of 69 riders during a 1 1/2 hour race on a 6 mile course through some of the nastiest terrain in northern p.a., so don't believe what you read and hear. you can smoke a lot of other makes and models in the woods on your raptor, you just have to learn to tame the beast. sorry to blow my own horn ,but i practice with guys mostly on 400's and all i hear is too much power and their tippy. well this old man on a rappy put a thumpin on a lot of them this weekend. God bless and keep it shiny side up... oh ya plug your ears when your fellow riders start yappin [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 07-02-2002, 11:34 PM
Weekend Warrior

Congrats,you are so correct,the raptor rocks in the woods.Went riding with my buddy with his 400ex this weekend.We switched quads for awhile and he couldnt believe how my stock raptor handled,he liked it better than his 400ex.

Old 07-03-2002, 09:35 AM
Elite Pro Rider

Yes, the Raptor is an awesome woods rider......don't have to lean on the motor all day to keep up with fellow riders either.

Old 07-03-2002, 10:57 AM
Weekend Warrior

Hey 660BigDaddy