Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

twist throttle; good or bad?

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2002, 11:01 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default twist throttle; good or bad?

I've been riding dirtbikes for 23 years and I just bought my first quad - a 2003 Blaster. The main thing I don't like about the thumb throttle is it's hard for me to really utilize my front brakes. On a dirtbike, I always have a finger on the brake and that's hard to do when I have my thumb stretched out on the throttle.

Why do they use thumb throttle controls on ATVs? Is there any reason not to switch to a twist throttle? If there's some solid pros and cons could you fill me in?

thanks in advance
Jay

Old 11-15-2002, 11:21 PM
FMF
Pro Rider

Well I have a Twist Throttle on my banshee and I will never go back to Thumb Throttle.
It did take me a week to get use to it but I do like it better.

Old 11-15-2002, 11:34 PM
RIP Dear Friend

JCV220,

Hey that wouldn't be a 220 KDX in your name would it?

Chet[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-shocked.gif[/img]

Old 11-16-2002, 12:17 AM
Pro Rider

In my opinion a twist throttle on a quad is a good way to get hurt, i can use the front brakes on my blaster fine, u just need to learn how. if u ever want to really learn to wheelie or anything like that its not the best idea in my opinion. just my 2 cents

EsHe

--------------------------
88 Warrior
Pro Curcuit T-4
K&N Filter
Pro Design Intake
Jetted
DP Racing Brake Pads
DG Alloy Series Nerfs
Duro Hard Pack Rear Tires
New Plastic
New 98 Bottom End
Fresh 88 Top End

99 Blaster
FMF Fatty Gold Series Pipe
FMF Power Core 2 Silencer

Old 11-16-2002, 12:43 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

IMO,