1) Engine problems.. If your quad wont run..post in here.

Meercat 50 has no power and stalls

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2005 | 03:45 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Meercat 50 has no power and stalls

Hello

Bought a Meercat 50 from my buddy who deployed to Iraq. It was brand new and only ridden twice. After 2 months of riding by my sons, the engine lost power and started to stall. It would run fine when cold, but once it warmed up it would start to screw up. I called KazumaUSA and got a guy called Jason at Jackal Motorsports who said it was definitely the CDI. I purchased the CDI but low and behold it didn't help. So not being a small engine expert, my opinion is that either my valves are out of adjustment or the carb is not working properly. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Old 04-22-2005 | 10:34 AM
Pro Rider

Sounds like a carb problem. I would take it off and clean it completely. Have you tryed adjusting the idle screw and air/mixture screw?

Old 04-22-2005 | 10:40 AM
Pro Rider

Also have you cleaned the air filter. I cleaned mine after my son rode for two weeks and it was real dirty and actually let some dirt past it into the carb. I now oilded my air filter and cleaned out the carb. Helped alot.

Old 04-23-2005 | 12:51 AM
Weekend Warrior

Have you checked the position of your choke?

Old 04-23-2005 | 11:11 AM
Weekend Warrior

i think the choke is the problem. i had the exact same problem. what was happening was that while the quad was being ridden, the bumps and vibration would slowly raise the choke lever up. it took me a while to figure this out. i just wired it down....problem solved!. mine will even start without the choke.

Old 05-06-2005 | 02:07 AM
Weekend Warrior