Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Which atv should I buy for Towing in Snow?

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2006, 08:41 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which atv should I buy for Towing in Snow?

Ive been test driving a honda recon 250, and after a few days, i am getting the feeling It could get a little boring, Im thinking about saving up and getting something with a little more pep, and also 4x4 for the winter, I am worried because i havnt ridden in the snow and dont know how well a quad can pull a snowboarder, can 4x4 pull up hill? Which atv is best for snow and power in the sand dunes as well, IM new to this so i dont know if 1400 is a good deal for a well running 2002 honda recon (2wd), should i buy the recon and sell it for more? If I get an atv it has to be faster, more powerful, and have better handeling year round, please help, im new to the sport

Old 09-25-2006, 10:24 PM
Pro Rider

Well if your going to be towing in the snow I'd recommend a 4x4 2wd just doesn't cut it. Believe it or not, I pulled a sled last winter with 2 or 3 people with my King 700 in 4wd diff lock and my tires were spinning and I couldn't make it up this fairly step hill, now with only one person I could make it pretty easy. Snow changes things b/c you can't just go buy power a lone you have to take traction into consideration. A Recon 250 is the lowest powered/ slowest Utility out there, and without 4wd you will not be going very fast in the snow...ecspecially pulling something or someone. If you could save your money for a 400 or 500cc ute I'm sure you'd have much more fun b/c otherwise you'll be getting stuck all the time and 250cc just is pretty gutless for a heavy utility.

Old 09-25-2006, 11:36 PM
Pro Rider