Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

Should I have bought the Claws?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2000, 04:21 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Now I am starting to have second thoughts about my Bugs, not that I am unhappy with them (not that at all!) but there is just so much talk about them damn Claws. I think Andy took a shot at this before but I will ask again. Why is everyone choosing Claws over Bugs. I always thought that Claws were much more aggressive than Bugs. Bugs being a better tire for all round riding. However since I have zero experience with the Claws all I can go on is by looking at them they seem similar and the Claws seem to give a much better ride than say Vamps which I have no interest in due to their "purpose built use". I always thought Claws were more similar to Vamps and hence I went with the Bugs because I have had experience with the Vamps. I ask not only to ease my mind but we are probably gonna put a set of tires on our other 500 Cat and I am wondering if I should try the Claws. So what's the deal, why are Claws so popular they are scarcer than hen's teeth?

Old 10-12-2000, 02:48 PM
Pro Rider

Thump:
Not sure what is up with the 'Claws lately, H.L. has been selling out of them, every truck they get in. I had originally planned on the Bugs, myself, though was steered otherwise. I always thought the 'Claws looked mean, tough and would be cool as hell on the 'Cat, but never really thought about them for my purposes, figured they were more a straight mud tire. Andy pretty much changed my mind for me, and was basically my deciding "kick in the butt" I guess you could say.