Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2005 650 arctic cat

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2007, 09:50 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 650 arctic cat

I'm new to this sport and bought a 2005 cat 650 v 2. It was good for a few weeks and then 2-3 miles into the trip it would just die. I put a new batt. in it and found that at off pos. it read 12.5 volts and when I started it it went down to 12.0 volts instead of going up to 14 volts or so. Anyone out help me? I don't know if this has voltage regulator or alternator or what. Thanks

Old 05-20-2007, 10:08 PM
Pro Rider

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: bgbdab

I'm new to this sport and bought a 2005 cat 650 v 2. It was good for a few weeks and then 2-3 miles into the trip it would just die. I put a new batt. in it and found that at off pos. it read 12.5 volts and when I started it it went down to 12.0 volts instead of going up to 14 volts or so. Anyone out help me? I don't know if this has voltage regulator or alternator or what. Thanks</end quote></div>

ATV's run off of a magneto, they have an RPM break point of around 2000 rpm, meaning that under 2000 the magneto will not charge the battery.

Put it in neutral and go about 1/4 throttle and then measure the voltage.

Check the followin link for more detail.

https://atvconnection.com/D...V-Charging-Systems.cfm

Old 05-20-2007, 10:23 PM
Pro Rider

Because of the nature of ATV's I charge my battery on a charger quite often. Maybe every couple weeks. Especially after a long ride and if I used the lights much. This is why I ran some wire from my battery to the front fender and have some terminals with wing nuts there. I pull into the garage, hook the charger and that's it... The next day the battery is fully charged.
Don't rely on your magneto to maintain your battery - chances are that it won't.

Old 05-21-2007, 08:16 AM
Weekend Warrior