Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

Arctic Cat 400LE won't start without help

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2008, 08:17 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Arctic Cat 400LE won't start without help

[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]
I have a 2006 Arctic Cat 400LE with a starting problem. I am a Land Surveyor and use my Cat for work. Because of this it sits for a

while between the larger jobs that I use it on. This spring it became hard to start. My first action was to change the plug. It started

but needed a pump or three of the primer. Once started it ran well. (Like it always had for the last 2+ years). However, within a few

weeks it became increasingly hard to start and finally impossible. It seamed like there was a vacuum leak. I took it to a local

motorcycle/atv service shop (since my Cat dealer went out-of-business.) He shot air into the gas tank and it started. His diagnosis was

that the fuel pump had a leak in its diaphram and needed to be replaced. The pump is backordered. I have been using the ATV and blowing

air into the tank and priming the carb to start it. After it warms it runs perfectly.
Does anyone agree with the "fuel pump" diagnosis or is there another cause for this problem?
p.S. When I brought it to the shop there was a cracked crank case breather hose that was replaced. Also, when I first brought it back

from the shop gas began leaking from the bottom of the carb. There was a hose that wasn't hooked up and I plugged it into the bottom of

the carb. The overfow was probably caused by a stuck float but that doesn't appear to be a problem now.

Old 10-01-2008, 01:04 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think you have gunk in the carb / fuel line. Do you have a fuel filter? If yes replace it. If no, add it. Get some SeaFoam additive and put it in the gas and run it. I'll bet it clears your problem up.