Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

rear tires locked up

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2009, 12:34 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rear tires locked up

I have never worked on atv's before I bought this 2001 arctic cat 500 manual. Now i have changed cv joints, tie rod ends, front tire ball bearing cage, and a few other misc things.... this machine has been neglected. Anyways I was riding the other day, got stuck and after getting out, there was a noise coming from the drivetrain i believe when I would use reverse. The noise stopped but about a half hour after that my real left tire dislocated from the machine, axle and all. There was barely anything left of the bearings. My axle is now somewhat slanted, but my main problem is this: now my rear tire won't hardly move when it is in neutral, During disassembly I noticed about 1/4 inch of sand and whatnot built-up around the cavity of the gearcase where the axle is seated into. Please tell me the gearcase is fine and my problem is elsewhere! Thanx in advance to anyone who can shed light as to what my problem is.

Old 09-10-2009, 12:52 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default Please Help!!!

My rear tires will not budge in neutral, however when i put it into gear and give it gas the remaining tire on it does spin. Dunno if that helps w/ the troubleshooting. I have a repair manual but can't figure out what it would be. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanx again to anyone who can help.

Old 09-10-2009, 02:51 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default both axles bent?

The axle that did fall out might be bent slightly. I'm wondering if the intact axle might have been bent when the other fell out while riding and that's the reason why it won't turn freely when in neutral. I realize I've been posting alot about this but I am trying to get it going by this weekend and really don't wanna bring it in to pay an arm and a leg to get it fixed. Again thanx to those who post a response.

Old 09-10-2009, 10:31 PM