Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

2005 artic cat 400i

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2010, 07:21 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2005 artic cat 400i

Hi i am new to artic cat. never owned one before. Ok so i just bought a 2005 400i with only 1100km on it. The 4x4 does not work. Sadly i just got it home and went to put it in the shed, that has a ramp that i have to put the bikes in 4x4 to get up. When i hit the switch i heard a noise like zzzzz then tried to back the bike up the ramp but only the back tires would spin. So i looked and i see the front drive shaft turning. The bike is mint. Did i buy a problem bike.

Old 03-16-2010, 10:03 PM
Pro Rider
Does it in the Mud!

my neighbor has the same bike and at about 400 miles his did the same thing. it was a piece in the 4 wheel drive actuator. cant remember how much it was but if i had to guess,$125.00 us dollars maybe for a whole new actuator. The "zzzzz" sound you hear is normal as its the sound of the actuator engaging the 4 wheel drive,but its broke so it wont work obviously. My neighbors basically had a piece get stripped out on the inside. After he replaced it hes never had another issue. i dont think you got a problem bike. it should be a great bike for you. good luck.

Old 03-16-2010, 10:19 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Post 2005 arctic cat 400i

Originally Posted by Timmerman
Hi i am new to artic cat. never owned one before. Ok so i just bought a 2005 400i with only 1100km on it. The 4x4 does not work. Sadly i just got it home and went to put it in the shed, that has a ramp that i have to put the bikes in 4x4 to get up. When i hit the switch i heard a noise like zzzzz then tried to back the bike up the ramp but only the back tires would spin. So i looked and i see the front drive shaft turning. The bike is mint. Did i buy a problem bike.