Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

Plows

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2001, 01:49 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Im looking at getting a plow for my Cat. Is there a big differance between the differnat plows. I dont know what to get. I plan on getting a 50" becasue thats all I think I will need. How have the AC plows been, they are all plastic right? also are the Ac plows the only ones that have the remote angling controls and does it work good.
Thanks for the help

Old 06-15-2001, 03:36 AM
Pro Rider

Are you using it for mainly snow, or some dirt/gravel, other stuff during the "off season" months? Also, how big of an area will you be covering? I have no knowledge of the AC plows, but if they are plastic, I would steer away from it. You'd be surprised as to how much abuse a plow really takes, I wouldn't skimp on a well-built unit. As a result, I think the Moose plow is about the best model, sturdiest, heaviest duty you can get. The Cycle country plow is also a good unit, I just feel the Moose is stronger, built tougher. Also, unless you are doing very confined area's, I think you'd be surprised you might just be happier with the full 60". That extra width will definately make sure you "roll" the snow out from under the tires. Granted, you won't be able to do sidewalks as easily with the 60", but you can cover a lot more ground, getting the job done that much quicker. Don't worry, your 'Cat has plenty of power to move the larger unit as well. As for the angling, both units have side to side angling, several different positions. Whichever plow you decide, you'll definately want the heavy duty skid pads, and not sure if you saw my other tip about getting the thicker wear bar from a city rig. You'll have to cut it in half, then drill it out to fit your plow, but it will last easily twice as long as the normal "heavy duty" wear bars you can buy from any of the plow manufacturers for atv's.