Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

CV Boots!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2001, 10:28 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey all, I'm new to the ATV Connection Forum. Anyhow, to get to the point: am I having the world's worst luck with CV boots? I have had a torn boot at 70 miles (left front inner), 120 miles (right rear outer), and today at 135 miles (left front inner again). Today in frustration and due to the dealer closed for 2 days, I went to Autozone and found a CV boot kit that replaces the AC kit for only $10. This is 1/3 the cost of the AC kit. The P/N is 10056K, by New Alloy. It comes with grease and clamps. Also picked up a band tool ($6) and already had the retaining ring pliers.

FWIW, after the rear boot got torn, I put the steel wraparound boot guards on in an effort to prevent another. Looks like the front guards don't do a lot.

I ride in rugged territory, all either in Tellico or local old moonshiner's trails.

Old 07-09-2001, 10:57 AM
JKB
Pro Rider

This is the best part of the forum. The sharing of info. I have not yet torn a boot, I have broken the clamp loose on a couple of occasions but nothing other than that. I have had steel CV protectors on since day one. I now have 1800 miles on the original boots and still going. This bike has been very good so far. I spent less than $50 bucks on it other than regular scheduled maintenance.

Cheers Jim

Old 07-10-2001, 09:28 AM
sly
Trailblazer

Is the inner boot and the outer boots the same size?
And do you know if this will fit the 500 auto?
Thanks!!

Old 07-10-2001, 09:58 AM
Pro Rider

Yes inner & outer are the same. 500 & 300 fronts are the same. Not sure about 300 front & rear, have ripped 2 fronts, no rears.

Old 07-18-2001, 03:52 PM
Weekend Warrior

I am having the same trouble with the boots I tore a right inner. There is a auto boot that will match up with the AC boot, is this the part No. for an automobile. And by the way how often do you ride Tellico.